Advocate PDF 2016

Pre 2012 Archives

An infusion of new leadership

At the recent PSARA General Membership meeting, the recommendations of the PSARA Elections Committee were approved unanimously by the general membership. Susan Levy was elected as PSARA’s new Outreach Vice President. Susan has been serving on our Executive Board and has been coordinating our outreach discussions since our former Outreach Vice President, Bette Reed, became gravely ill. (Bette and Chaya Burstein, our first political cartoonist, were remembered with a moment of silence at our membership meeting.)

Newly elected Board members include: Imogene Williams, a long time PSARA volunteer and indefatigable grass roots activist; Mike Warren, a former member of the Board who also serves as President of the WA Alliance for Retired Americans; Richard Champion, who is active with the 30th Legislative District Democrats , an officer of the King County Democrats and an active member of Social Security Works WA Education Committee;
Kristen Beifus, Executive Director of the Washington Fair Trade Coalition and on the board of the Backbone Campaign as well as Sweat Free Communities/International Labor Rights Forum and Debby Corr, a long time Seattle grass roots activist and a retired teacher and Seattle Education Association member.

Reelected as officers for another term are Frieda Takamura, our Recording Secretary and Edie Koch, our hard-working Treasurer. Relected to the Board are Mary Anderson, Rick Erickson, Frank Irigon, Vivian Lee, Gene Lux, Anita Nath, and Magdeleno Rose Avila.

Our Executive Board is now composed of 25 members. All of these volunteers deserve appreciation for the time they donate to make PSARA a feisty and effective organization!

Leave a Reply